Where does California rank in study on DUI strictness?
June 19, 2015
Law enforcement officials all across the nation are making an effort to crack down on drunk driving. In 2012, 31 percent of car accidents were caused by drunk driving. While this number is still too high, it is good to know that this number is considerably lower than when states first started making an effort to stop drunk driving in the 1980s. In fact, from 1982 to 2013, drunk driving fatalities dropped 52 percent.A major reason for this decrease has to do with strict DUI penalties that drunk drivers face nowadays. A recent study by WalletHub ranked all 50 states in order from strictest to most lenient when it comes to DUI charges and convictions. The study considered various factors such as criminal penalties and prevention methods. California was ranked number 31 on the list.The potential consequences of a DUI conviction can be severe, from license suspension to possible jail time. In California, merely being arrested for a DUI typically results in an administrative suspension of your license for four months. Your license could be taken away for longer depending on whether you are convicted. Many other states have similar suspension periods. A DUI first offense in California should also typically expect to spend at least two days in jail.Additionally, alcohol assessment and/or treatment is required in 37 states. Almost half of the states require all DUI offenders to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicles. These devices prevent driers from starting the car if they have been drinking. These consequences make it clear that a DUI conviction can have a major effect on your future.