IMPORTANT INFO AFTER A DUI PLEA
May 13, 2020
This is a summary of what happens when there is a plea.
INSTRUCTIONS AFTER A PLEA
INFO YOU NEED TO KNOW:
Alcohol Education Program (AEP):
New office 83 912 Avenue 45, Suite 9, Indio, CA 92201 ; (760) 863 8471 (Hours Monday – Thursday 8-5; Friday 8-4:30)
LCA (Leaders in Community Alternatives) call within 5 days from court date to make an appointment @ 1271 Columbia Ave,
Suite F1, Riverside 92507; (951) 367 3601. SCRAM only in Indio T & Th.
California VIP Referral: register online at www.maddcalifornia.org/vip or call 800-426-6233 ($30 program fee, Payable to MADD due at check in. No personal checks or cash). Call now as the classes fill up fast.
Indio Probation Department:
47940 Arabia St. Indio 92201
48th and Arabia
760 863 8415
Financial Services/enhanced Collections: (to Pay Fines)
If you enter a plea, the court imposes a fine which is paid at the first room on the left as you enter the Larson Justice Center. It was formerly called FINANCIAL SERVICES and recently changed its name to ENHANCED COLLECTIONS - (877) 955-3463 or you can pay online at www.epay-it.com or http://www.riverside.courts.ca.gov/epayit.shtml or http://www.riverside.courts or ca.gov/pubnotice_increasedaccess.pdf. You can often work out payment plans of $50.00 to $75.00 a month. Telephone payments can be made by calling (951) 222-0384.
CONTACT THE Formerly named THE RIVERSIDE COUNTY DRINKING DRIVING PROGRAM and now named IDP IMPAIRED DRIVING PROGRAM within 5 days of your final court date for an orientation appointment. You must bring your Sentencing Memorandum/Plea form with you so they know which DUI class you must enter.
You must do this BEFORE enrolling in AB541 program.
They Recently Moved from Fargo St. and Are Now Located:
(Riverside Substance Abuse and Drinking Driving Program) NOW named IDP IMPAIRED DRIVING PROGRAM 1/1/19
83-912 Avenue 45, Suite 9, Indio, CA 92201.
(760) 863-8471, fax (760) 342-4469.
Their orientation is usually on a Monday, Wednesday and Thursday at 9 am. It usually takes 2 to 3 weeks to get an opening for an orientation appointment. If you live out of town, the Riverside County Drinking Driving Program may be able to coordinate your attending the required program in another county, but usually not in another state or country. However if the court ok’s classes in another state they may be able to assist you but DMV will NOT accept.
You would give them a money order for about $93.00 payable to Riverside County. You would need: (1) H6 DMV Print-out of your record that you get from DMV; (2) Pink Temporary License; and (3) Copy of the Minute Order from the Court.
Many clients want to take care of the Drinking Driving program requirement before going to court, and though most lawyers will tell you that you cannot do so, you can. There is, however, a potential problem where the court may want to order you into a program all over again. Thus, we do not recommend this. To enter a DUI class before a plea, you would have to first call:
(Riverside County Drinking Driving Program) NOW IDP IMPAIRED DRIVING PROGRAM (760) 863-8471 will direct you to one of the following:
(1) The AWARENESS PROGRAM at (760) 342-1233; or
(2) The ALERT PROGRAM at (760) 322-7725
They will need a DMV printout called an H6 that you obtain from DMV in Palm Springs, Palm Desert or Indio along with your California DMV ID card that I suggested you get on day 1. You will also give them the court papers showing the plea.
The Awareness Program uses the DMV printout or court order to sign you up for the First Offender Drinking Driving Program under AB-541. This is a 16 week, (4 month) program meeting once per week for 2 hours until you do 15 classes. If your blood alcohol reading is over .15, then AB-1353 (an Enhancement) will be filed by the Court, thus requiring the 9 month program. the Cost is $165 at $31/day. DMV only enhances if the reading is over .20.
The registration fee with Awareness is $61 for 541 classes and $165 if 9 mo (1353) program. The cost is $31/day for both. If you need to transfer OUT they will charge you $21 (and $40 to transfer in)
You normally have 21 days from the Court Sentencing date to enroll in DUI classes. Most clients go to the AWARENESS PROGRAM at their new address of 45-45926 Oasis, Indio 92201. They also have a Palm Springs office. Their phone number is (760) 342-1233. Candace Bibby is the owner of the Awareness Program and Fernando is the director.
There is also the ALERT PROGRAM, owned by Jacque Stewart, 730 Eugene Road, Palm Springs, California 92264, and their phone number again is (760) 322-7725. When you call her, say hello from me and she will give you a discount on the program. The 1st Offenders Programs costs $488.00, the (9) month program is $1,200.00 and the Wet Reckless program is $215.00.
If you have to be out-of-town you can request a leave of absence. The individual program may allow a leave of absence based on the facts for a period of time… but your lawyer would have to be retained to return to court to request the court go along with that if you can’t finish the program by the date ordered by the court…AND THE RIV CO DUI PROGRAM WOULD HAVE TO GO ALONG WITH IT. However, you must attend 1 class before asking for a leave of absence. Normally you would have to show airline tickets showing you will be out-of-town etc.
IF YOU ARE FROM OUT OF STATE TAKING THE PROGRAM IN ANOTHER STATE OR IF YOUR LAWYER CAN TALK THE COURT INTO AN ONLINE DUI CLASS PROGRAM, UNDERSTAND ON LINE ONLY WORKS FOR THE COURT AND NOT DMV. THUS IF YOU EVER PLAN ON GETTING A CALIFORNIA LICENSE OR DRIVING ON CALIFORNIA ROAD AGAIN YOU MUST COMPLY WITH DMV… OR HIRE A LAWYER TO RETURN TO COURT TO ASSIST YOU WITH A TERMINATION OF ACTION MOTION. YOU WOULD BE ASKING THE COURT TO ORDER DMV TO TERMIANTE THEIR LICENSE SUSPENSION.
Home Arrest in Lieu of Jail:
Most people go to Banning to get the ankle bracelet as they are more accommodating. However for those of us in the greater Palm Springs area it is far more convenient go to the Jail across from the courthouse on Oasis and Hwy 111. Enter the door closest to Hwy 111 and ask for PRE TRIAL SERVICES to sign up for the ANKLE BRACELET (if you do NOT go to LCA).
Riverside recently approved the use of the SCRAM Ankle Bracelet for home arrest in some cases, in lieu of jail. SCRAM stands for Secure Continuous Remote Alcohol Monitoring and you are hooked up to your home or cell phone. SCRAM is usually necessary if there is a traffic accident. BUT SCRAM does not allow 4019 50% Good Time credit.
It is only available in Indio T & Th.
When you wear a Home Arrest ankle bracelet through the Riverside Sheriff Department (RSO), they will normally allow you to wear it 12 hours at home and 12 hours out of the house for work. Upon VERIFICATION/Necessity, they will allow up to a maximum of 16 hours out of home.
If you are NOT working they will normally give you 8 hours to do what you need to do and be home for the rest of the time. . .but, you must wear the bracelet at all times.
For those that want to use a private home arrest program:
To Get the LCA Home Arrest you must have requested it at the time of the plea. Otherwise everyone goes to Banning or the Indio Jail to sign up for an ankle bracelet. Linda Connelly, the President of LEADERS IN COMMUNITY ALTERNATIVES (LCA) supplies these 8 oz. bracelet devices that are worn 24 hours a day for 3, 4, 6 or 12 months. LCA is located in Riverside at their new address, 1271 Columbia Ave, Suite F1, Riverside 92507. (951) 367-3601. Gislena Gonzalez is the contact person with whom we work. They recently obtained a small office in Indio 82500 HWY 111 # 1A inside Brets Investigation/Bail Bonds, next to Shakeys M&W 9-4. The cost is based on a sliding scale of $15.00 to $50.00 per day and is negotiable. They have Tuesday morning appointments in Indio (SCRAM on T & Th). The LCA average price is about $25/day vs Banning at $13/day. They check your pay stubs to determine what they will charge. Call them within 5 days of court date.
MADD California VIP Referral: register online at www.maddcalifornia.org/vip or call 800-426-6233 ($30 program fee, Payable to MADD due at check in. No personal checks or cash)