If you face criminal charges, the immediate disruption to your life can be significant. Without the services of an experienced criminal defense lawyer, the consequences of criminal charges can quickly become much more permanent. Working with an attorney who merely dabbles in criminal defense can be similarly disastrous.
At the office of Dale Gribow Attorney at Law in Palm Desert, you'll find an attorney who advocates aggressively for individuals throughout the Coachella Valley in criminal defense matters and focusing on DUI cases for many decades. I have practiced law in California for more than 35 years, with over 20 years of that in the Greater Palm Springs area. I have been named a Top DUI Attorney and Personal Injury lawyer by Palm Springs Life magazine each year from 2011 through 2023 as well as Inland Empire Magazine; AV Preeminent Martindale Hubbell the most respected national rating awarded to only a select number of accomplished attorneys. It reflects the “Confidential Reviews” of Judges and Attorneys, familiar with his work, for his Legal Ability and Very Ethical. Additional Top Attorney Awards by Avvo 10.0/5 Star Top Attorney Awards 6x’s; Google 5.0; Justia; Expertise.com; Stellar Diamond Legacy Top Attorney (9/15/23) and Attorney of the Year (Ca.), Top 100 Lawyers (6/23).
I protect the rights of individuals who face a broad spectrum of criminal charges, including:
1st DUI Offense
2nd DUI Offense
3rd DUI Offense
4th DUI Offense
Ignition Interlock Device
Up to 3 years
Up to 30 days
Up to 1 year
Up to 1 year / forfeiture
Up to 1 year / forfeiture
up to 6 mos.
Min 4 days-1 year
Min 120 days-1 year
Min 180 days-3 years
Approximate Court Fine
Public Work Service (PSP)
DUI penalties vary according to a number of factors including but not limited to: 1. Prior Offenses; 2. BAC level; 3. Collision; 4. Injury.
1st Time DUI
A 1st time DUI (Misdemeanor) may result in a loss of license for 6-10 months, and Commercial license loss for 1 year. That is why it is critical to request a DMV hearing within 10 days of your arrest or you waive your right to a hearing which will result in a license suspension thirty-one days after your arrest.
In the Indio Court, penalties of a 1st time DUI range from a 3-9 month alcohol class, MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Driving) class, Public Work Service, up to 6 months in jail, possible interlock ignition device installation, and court fines.
2nd Time DUI
A 2nd time Misdemeanor DUI within ten years, could mean a California Driver’s License loss for two year and a Commercial license for LIFE. That’s why it’s important to request a DMV hearing within 10 days of your arrest (as set forth on the pink paper you were given when your license was taken away), or you waive your right to a hearing. If so you license will be suspended on the 31st day after your arrest. The 2nd offense DUI penalty varies from an 18 month alcohol class, MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Driving) class, Public Work Service, up to one year in jail, possible interlock ignition device installation, and higher court fines.
3rd Time DUI
A 3rd time Misdemeanor DUI, within ten years of a first offense, could result in a loss of license for 3-10 years, and loss of a commercial license for life. That’s why it is critical we request a DMV hearing within 10 days of your arrest. If not, you waive your right to a DMV hearing, resulting in a license suspension… 31 days after your arrest. 3rd time court penalties could result in an Alcohol Class for 18-30 months, MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Driving) class, Public Work Service, up to 1 year in jail; possible interlock ignition device installation, and court fines.
4th Time DUI
A 4th time DUI within ten years of your first offense, escalates an otherwise standard DUI to a FELONY offense. It could result in a loss of license for 4-10 years and loss of commercial license for life. Thus it’s critical to request a DMV hearing within 10 days of your arrest or you waive your right to a hearing. That would lead to a license suspension 31 days after your arrest.
The 4th time DUI court penalties range from an 18 month alcohol class, MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Driving) class, Public Work Service, up to 3 years in prison, possible interlock ignition device installation, and court fines.
The attorney requests a DMV Hearing
A request for a DMV hearing must be made 10 days of your arrest date. The arresting officer takes your California Driver’s License (CDL) gives you a pink Temporary DMV license. This Pink Temporary license allows you to drive for 30 days, as long as you had a valid license prior to this incident. However, if you don’t request a hearing within 10 days, you lose your ability to fight against a license suspension and the DMV will automatically suspend your license after 30 days. The suspension length depends on the number of prior DUI offenses and the circumstances at the time of your arrest.
How Long Will My DUI Case Take?
DUI cases are complex and difficult to navigate…especially so in the Indio Court during the Age of Covid. We will guide you through the process and advise you of every option along the way. It is such a game of speculation…ie, it Depends, until we get the police report(s), calibration records, lab packets and all of the necessary information we need to fully advise you. Oftentimes, this is a long process (at least up to a year in the Indio Court during the Covid period), and it can take a while to receive all of the relevant material as the DA’s are back up. At the beginning of 2023 the court was back up with 2800 cases. Thus we have had to all be patient.
YOUR FUTURE MATTERS
As your legal counsel, I will work to minimize the impact that criminal charges have on your life. I take the time to analyze the unique aspects of every case, and I will tailor a legal strategy to your specific needs.
If possible, I will work toward a resolution through negotiation in order to retain more control of the outcome. My clients are part of every discussion regarding plea deals and ultimately have the final say in the actions we take. When we do go to court, I prepare meticulously and know every detail of your case.
Contact me today if you face criminal charges in Palm Springs or elsewhere in the Coachella Valley. We can review the facts of your case during a Free strategy analysis consultation, and I will recommend the best course of action.